Lethbridge, Alberta

Saturday, September 21, 2019

Main Library: 5th Ave. S. and 8th St. S. | 11am - 5pm

Change Location
Menu

Select your Location:

X

Participants

Come out this year to meet and listen to authors, illustrators, and performers from across Canada! Check out our 2019 line-up...

Jim Brown

Jim Brown has been a journalist for more than 30 years. He is best known for his work on CBC Radio, most recently as host of the weekly current affairs program The 180. Prior to joining the CBC, Jim worked as a newspaper reporter and magazine editor. His first film, Radiant City, won the Genie Award for best documentary in 2008 and was named one of the 10 best films of the year at the Toronto International Film Festival. The Golden Boy of Crime is his first book.

The Golden Boy of Crime

For readers of The Devil in the White City and The Massey Murder, the incredible story of Norman “Red” Ryan—“the Jesse James of Canada” and the “Kardashian” of the 1920s and ’30s

Dubbed “the Jesse James of Canada,” Norman “Red” Ryan was infamous in the 1920s and ’30s until he was gunned down in an attempted robbery in Sarnia, Ontario. Ernest Hemingway wrote about Ryan’s escape from Kingston Penitentiary for the Toronto Star, Morley Callaghan based a novel on him and stories of Ryan and his crimes filled newspapers and airwaves. One of the first Canadians to be granted parole, he was held up by Prime Minister R. B. Bennett as a model of rehabilitation and became a regular guest at Toronto police picnics. All the while, however, Ryan was continuing a crime spree on the side.

Jim Brown, filmmaker and CBC Radio host, tells the incredible true story of “Red” Ryan, a larger-than-life criminal whose fame and legend were much encouraged by the media—he was the “Kardashian” of the time—and whose story endures.

Biography & Memoir Historical Mystery & Suspense Nonfiction