Lethbridge, Alberta

Saturday, September 22, 2018

Main Library: 5th Ave. S. and 8th St. S. | 11:00 am - 5:00 pm

Change Location

Select your Location:



The Word On The Street has been renowned for the quality and diversity of its event programming and our next festival promises to offer the best so far. See our  line-up of incredible Canadian literary talent at The Word On The Street Lethbridge for 2017....

What Do Mystery Writers Read?

1:00 PM - 1:45 PM

When they aren’t plotting murders and felonies—all strictly fictional—what do mystery writers themselves read? We have a panel of crime-writing sleuths assembled to help you crack this case! Join Ian Hamilton, David Poulsen, D.K Stone, S.G. Wong, and moderator Ian Hepher to find out more.

Ian Hamilton

IAN HAMILTON is the author of the Ava Lee series. The books have been shortlisted for numerous prizes, including the Arthur Ellis Award, the Barry Award, and the Lambda Literary Prize, and are national bestsellers. The Water Rat of Wanchai was the winner of the Arthur Ellis Award for Best First Novel and was named a best book of the year by Amazon.ca, the Toronto Star, and Quill & Quire. BBC Culture named Hamilton one of the ten mystery/crime writers from the last thirty years that should be on your bookshelf. The series is being adapted for television.

David Poulsen

David A. Poulsen has been a broadcaster, teacher, football coach, and actor, who spends eighty to one hundred days each year as a visiting author in schools across Canada. He is the author of more than twenty books, including Old Man, which was shortlisted for the Forest of Reading White Pine award, and Numbers which won the Sakura Medal in Japan. He lives in the foothills west of Claresholm, Alberta.

DK Stone

Danika Stone is an author, artist, and educator who discovered a passion for writing fiction while in the throes of her Masters thesis. A self-declared bibliophile, Danika now writes novels for both teens and adults: The Dark Divide (Stonehouse, 2018), Edge Of Wild (Stonehouse, 2016), Sip Sip Bang Bang (Macmillan, 2018), Internet Famous (Macmillan, 2017) and All The Feels (Macmillan, 2016).

SG Wong

SG Wong is the creator of the Lola Starke series of novels and of the Crescent City short stories, written in the tradition of the hard-boiled detective genre, with two-fingers’ worth of noir and a liberal sprinkling of magic and ghosts thrown in for good measure.

SG Wong has been a finalist for the Arthur Ellis Awards, in the Best First Novel and Best Short Story categories, as well as a nominee for the Whistler Independent Book Awards. Based in Edmonton, she is a member of the Writers’ Guild of Alberta and Crime Writers of Canada, and currently serves as President of the Canada West chapter of Sisters in Crime. sgwong.com