Toronto, Ontario

Sunday, September 24, 2017

Harbourfront Centre | 11:00 am - 6:00 pm

Change Location
Menu

Select your Location:

X

Participants

Since 1990, The Word On The Street has proudly hosted some of the finest talent in Canadian literature. Our 27th festival is shaping up to be one of our best yet. Check out all of the authors, performers, and storytellers below!

Lisa de Nikolits

Photo Credit: Bradford Dunlop

Lisa de Nikolits is the award-winning author of six novels. The Hungry Mirror won a 2011 IPPY Awards Gold Medal and was long-listed for a ReLit Award. West of Wawa won the 2012 IPPY Silver Medal and was a Chatelaine Editor’s Pick, and A Glittering Chaos won the 2014 Silver IPPY Silver Medal. Canadian Living magazine declared Between the Cracks She Fell “a must-read book of 2015.” It recently won an IPPY Bronze Medal.  Lisa is a member of the Mesdames of Mayhem, Crime Writers of Canada, Sisters in Crime-Toronto Chapter, and the International Thriller Writers. The Nearly Girl was published in August 2016.

 

The Nearly Girl

Fans of A Prayer for Owen Meany and One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest will love this clever, fast-paced and enjoyable thriller. Like a modern-day Joan of Arc, Amelia Fisher attempts to carve out a ‘normal life’, showing us how mythic the idea of ‘normal’ really is. With a poetic genius for a father, an obsessed body builder for a mother, and an enchantingly eccentric group seeking the help of an unorthodox therapist, what could possibly go wrong? Told with warmth, humor and populated with vividly original characters, this sprint-paced novel has it all, from restraining orders to sex in office bathrooms, and a nail-biting ending.

Fiction Mystery/Suspense/Horror