Toronto, Ontario

Sunday, September 24, 2017

Harbourfront Centre | 11:00 am - 6:00 pm

Change Location
Menu

Select your Location:

X

Schedule

For the past 26 years, The Word On The Street has been renowned for the quality and diversity of its event programming. See the lineup of incredible Canadian literary talent at the 27th festival on September 25, 2016.

Mysteries and Maple Leaves

12:15 PM - 1:00 PM

Though you may be tempted to think about maple syrup heists and beaver-napping, Canadian mystery writers have been busy crafting some of the finest and most intense crime thrillers north of  the 49th parallel. Join Steve Burrows’s birder detective Domenic Jejeune, Dietrich Kalteis’s British Columbian ex-cop biker hunter Rene Beckman, and Lisa de Nikolits’s troubled Amelia Fisher– who uncovers a mystery in her own mental institution – to scratch your itch for great mystery writing.

A Cast of Falcons

A man falling to his death from a remote cliff sets off a high-stakes chase for Inspector Domenic Jejeune, who pursues a ruthless killer knowing any misstep could bring down wrath from above on Domenic, his family, and the entire police force.

  • Fiction
  • Mystery/Suspense/Horror

Steve Burrows

Steve Burrows has pursued his birdwatching hobby on five continents. He is a former editor of the Hong Kong Bird Watching Society Magazine and a contributing field editor for Asian Geographic. The first book in the Birder Murder Mystery series, A Siege of Bitterns, won the Crime Writers of Canada 2015 Award for Best First Novel. Steve lives in Oshawa, Ontario.

The Nearly Girl

Fans of A Prayer for Owen Meany and One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest will love this clever, fast-paced and enjoyable thriller. Like a modern-day Joan of Arc, Amelia Fisher attempts to carve out a ‘normal life’, showing us how mythic the idea of ‘normal’ really is. With a poetic genius for a father, an obsessed body builder for a mother, and an enchantingly eccentric group seeking the help of an unorthodox therapist, what could possibly go wrong? Told with warmth, humor and populated with vividly original characters, this sprint-paced novel has it all, from restraining orders to sex in office bathrooms, and a nail-biting ending.

  • Fiction
  • Mystery/Suspense/Horror

Lisa de Nikolits

Lisa de Nikolits is the award-winning author of six novels. The Hungry Mirror won a 2011 IPPY Awards Gold Medal and was long-listed for a ReLit Award. West of Wawa won the 2012 IPPY Silver Medal and was a Chatelaine Editor’s Pick, and A Glittering Chaos won the 2014 Silver IPPY Silver Medal. Canadian Living magazine declared Between the Cracks She Fell “a must-read book of 2015.” It recently won an IPPY Bronze Medal.  Lisa is a member of the Mesdames of Mayhem, Crime Writers of Canada, Sisters in Crime-Toronto Chapter, and the International Thriller Writers. The Nearly Girl was published in August 2016.

 

Triggerfish

Rene Beckman is a dishonoured ex-cop with only two things on his mind: his new boat, the Triggerfish, and his hot date, an environmentalist named Vicki. When the two unknowingly dock the boat in the same secluded cove as a Mexican cartel’s drug submarine, the date ends with a bang.

With the cartel’s coke-for-guns deal with local bikers torched by Beckman, he’s forced to go on the run with half the underworld chasing him through the streets of Vancouver and the waters surrounding it.

When the gangs start to go after his friends, the ex-cop stops running and faces the cartel and bikers head on. Fast, vicious, and thrilling, Triggerfish delivers a story where all the criminals are in conflict and no one is certain who will come out on top.

  • Fiction
  • Mystery/Suspense/Horror

Dietrich Kalteis

Triggerfish is Dietrich Kalteis’s third novel. His debut novel, Ride the Lightning, won the bronze medal in the 2015 Independent Publisher Awards and was hailed as one of the best Vancouver crime novels. More than 40 of his short stories have been published internationally, and his screenplay Between Jobs was a finalist in the Los Angeles Screenplay Festival. He resides with his family in West Vancouver and is currently working on his next novel.