Toronto, Ontario

Sunday, September 24, 2017

Harbourfront Centre | 11:00 am - 6:00 pm

Change Location

Select your Location:



For the past 26 years, The Word On The Street has been renowned for the quality and diversity of its event programming. See the lineup of incredible Canadian literary talent at the 27th festival on September 25, 2016.

Justin Trudeau: The First Year

1:00 PM - 2:00 PM

Join Toronto Star political columnist Chantal Hébert, national affairs columnist Paul Wells and Ottawa bureau chief Bruce Campion-Smith as they evaluate Prime Minister Justin Trudeau’s first year in office and national politics one year post-Stephen Harper.

Bruce Campion-Smith

Bruce Campion-Smith is the Ottawa bureau chief for the Toronto Star, reporting from Parliament Hill on federal politics and policy. He joined the Star in 1988 and has held a variety of positions in the newsroom, including transportation beat reporter, assistant city editor and editorial writer. He joined the Ottawa bureau in 2003. He has covered four federal elections and twice travelled to Afghanistan to cover Canada’s military mission.

Chantal Hébert

Chantal Hébert, Toronto Star political columnist, cut her teeth in politics at Queen’s Park in the late seventies covering the minority governments of Premier William Davis. Since then she has reported in French and in English on Canada’s constitutional and referendum wars, the 1988 free-trade debate, as well as the ups and downs of federal politics over the last 35 years. In addition to her columns, Chantal is a regular member of the CBC’s At Issue panel, broadcast weekly on The National. Her second book, The Morning After, dealing with the 1995 referendum, was published in 2014.

Paul Wells

Paul Wells is a national affairs columnist at the Toronto Star. Previously, Wells was the political editor of Maclean’s magazine. In 13 years at Maclean’s, he won three gold National Magazine Awards. His book, The Longer I’m Prime Minister, won the Shaughnessy Cohen Prize, the John W. Dafoe Book Prize and the Ottawa Book Award.