Toronto, Ontario

WOTS Festival Marketplace

Sunday, September 22, 2019

Harbourfront Centre | 10am - 5pm


WOTS+ Festival Events

Saturday, September 21, 2019

Details to be announced |

Change Location

Select your Location:



For the past 28 years, The Word On The Street has been renowned for the quality and diversity of its event programming. See the lineup of incredible Canadian literary talent that will appear at our 29th festival on September 23rd, 2018.  

In Medias Res

12:15 PM - 1:15 PM

V. S. McGrath, Sarah Raughley, and David A. Robertson offer up the next chapters of their successful teen fantasy sagas.

The Devil’s Standoff

The second book in the magic-clad Devil’s Revolver series follows Hettie Alabama and her sister south of the Wall into Mexico, where they must unmake Hettie’s infernal mage gun while confronting a magic- and land-hungry army and a monster from hell.

  • Fantasy/Sci-fi | Fantastique/Science-fiction
  • Young Adult | Jeunes adultes

V. S. McGrath

V. S. McGrath is a published romance author (as Vicki Essex) with Harlequin Superromance. The Devil’s Standoff is the second book in her debut young adult fantasy series. She has been featured in The Globe and Mail, Metro Toronto, Torontoist, and more.

Siege of Shadows

The Effigies seek out the true origins of the Phantoms that terrorize their world in this thrilling follow-up to Fate of Flames, which Elise Chapman calls “an immersive and monstrously fun read.”

  • Fantasy/Sci-fi | Fantastique/Science-fiction
  • Fiction
  • Young Adult | Jeunes adultes

Sarah Raughley

Sarah Raughley grew up in Southern Ontario writing stories about freakish little girls with powers because she secretly wanted to be one. She is a huge fangirl of anything from manga to sci-fi/fantasy TV to Japanese role-playing games.


Cole Harper is struggling to settle into life in Wounded Sky First Nation. He may have stopped a serial killer but the trouble is far from over. Can he uncover secrets while surviving high school? Monsters is the second novel in The Reckoner trilogy.

  • Fiction
  • Young Adult | Jeunes adultes

David A. Robertson

David A. Robertson is an award-winning writer from Winnipeg. His books include When We Were Alone (winner Governor General’s Literary Award), the graphic novel Will I See? and the YA novel Strangers. David is a member of Norway House Cree Nation.