Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

Sunday, September 24, 2017

Saskatoon -  Broadway Business District - Broadway & 10th Street | 11:00 am - 5:00 pm

Change Location
Menu

Select your Location:

X

Participants

Since 1990, The Word On The Street has proudly hosted some of the finest talent in Canadian literature. Our next festival is shaping up to be another great one. Check out all of the confirmed authors, performers, and storytellers below!

Annette Lapointe

Annette Lapointe was born on the coldest day of 1978 in Saskatoon. She lived in rural Saskatchewan, Quebec City, St John’s, Saskatoon, Winnipeg, and South Korea before migrating to Grande Prairie, AB, where it’s cold most of the time but the wildlife comes right up to the door and asks to come in. She has published two award-winning novels: Stolen (2006) and Whitetail Shooting Gallery (2012). Her latest book is a short story collection You Are Not Needed Now, published by Anvil Press in 2017 Lapointe completed her PhD in Contemporary Literature in 2010. She now teaches literature and creative writing at Grande Prairie Regional College and edits The Waggle magazine.

www.annettelapointe.com | anna@digitalgala.com

Lapointe’s work is likely to appeal to fans of Lynn Coady, Karen Russell, and Kelly Link.

College.Fiction: (Grande Prairie, AB), You Are Not Needed Now

 

You Are Not Needed Now

You Are Not Needed Now is a collection of stories from Annette Lapointe, author of the novel Stolen, which was nominated for the Giller Prize and won two Saskatchewan Book Awards. These “often strange, vulgar, or messy stories” are set in small towns on the Canadian prairies. Despite the diversity, strangeness, and complexity of her characters, Lapointe illustrates a remarkable understanding of each one.

Fiction