Select your Location:



The Word On The Street has been renowned for the quality and diversity of its event programming and our next festival promises to offer the best so far. Check out our 2020 schedule!

Sunday, September 20th: Words Across Canada – Truth Be Told

1:00 PM - 2:00 PM

A double feature with authors from across the country. First, join us on a regional mystery tour with Alberta author DK Stone (Fall of Night) and St. John’s writer Kevin Major (Two for the Tablelands) on a regional mystery tour. Then, Carol Rose GoldenEagle and Andrea Gunraj discuss their characters’ journeys through loss, intergenerational trauma, healing, and recovery in their books The Narrows of Fear (Wapawikoscikanik) and The Lost Sister.

This session will be presented on Zoom. Register free on Eventbrite:

From September 10-27, Words Across Canada presents Canadian and Indigenous authors from across the country. This Words Across Canada event is presented by The Word On The Street Toronto in partnership with WOTS Halifax, WOTS Lethbridge, and WOTS Saskatoon.


Governor General Award winner Kevin Major is the author of nineteen books—fiction, literary non-fiction, poetry, and plays. As Near To Heaven By Sea: A History of Newfoundland and Labrador was a Canadian bestseller. He lives in St. John’s.

Two for the Tablelands  Sebastian Synard is back. It’s the off-season, and the Newfoundland tour guide introduced in One for the Rock has crossed the island with his spirited teenage son for a weekend exploring the wonders of Gros Morne National Park. But on a hike across the spectacular rockscape of The Tablelands, they discover the half-buried body of a murder victim.

Life as a tour guide had its twists and turns, but now Sebastian—with his offhand, Scotch-enriched nature—is crossing a more dangerous landscape, on a path that will leave him face-to-face with a killer.

D.K. Stone discovered a passion for writing fiction while in the throes of her Masters thesis. A self-declared bibliophile, Stone now writes novels both for teens Switchback, Internet Famous All the Feels (Macmillan); and adults The Dark DivideEdge Of Wild, and Fall of Night (Stonehouse). She lives in Lethbridge.

Fall of Night   Rich Evans is desperate to say goodbye to his past in New York and embrace a future in Waterton with fiancee Louise Newman, a small-town mechanic with an uncanny gift of foresight. But even Lou’s warnings are not enough to avoid the new troubles threatening the isolated border town. Rich returns to Waterton to discover the body of his estranged ex-girlfriend has been found in a remote mountain lake.

Constable Sadie Black Plume uncovers grisly details linking Gabrielle’s murder to a web of organized crime with connections to all layers of Waterton’s close-knit community. With Rich as the main suspect, Rich and Lou are forced to prove his innocence.

Carol Rose GoldenEagle is Cree and Dene with roots in Sandy Bay, Saskatchewan. She is a novelist, poet, playwright, visual artist, and musician, and author of the award-winning novel Bearskin Diary (2015), and Bone Black (2019). Her debut poetry volume, Hiraeth (2018) was shortlisted for the 2019 Saskatchewan Book Awards.

The Narrows of Fear (Wapawikoscikanik) weaves the stories of a group of women committed to helping one another. Despite abuse experienced by some, both in their own community and in residential schools, these women learn to celebrate their culture, its stories, its dancing, its drums, and its elders. Principal of these elders is Nina, the advisor at the women’s shelter. With the help of Sandy and Charlene, Nina uses Indigenous practices to heal the traumatized Mary Ann. This is a powerful novel—sometimes brutally violent, sometimes healing, sometimes mythical, and always deeply respectful of the Indigenous culture at its heart.

Andrea Gunraj lives in Toronto and, beyond writing, she’s passionate about communications, public education, and accessible technology for social change. Andrea works for the Canadian Women’s Federation. Learn more by visiting and follow @andreagunraj on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

The Lost Sister – Sisters Alisha and Diana live at Jane and Finch with their parents. Diana, the eldest, is the light of the family, the one Alisha longs to emulate. But when Diana’s body is discovered in the woods, Alisha becomes haunted. She thinks she knows who did it, but can’t tell anyone about it. Wracked with grief and unaware of Alisha’s secret guilt, the family unravels. It’s only through an unusual friendship with Paula, an older woman who volunteers at her school, that Alisha finds reprieve. Once an orphan in the Nova Scotia Home for Colored Children and estranged from her own sister, Paula helps Alisha understand that she must face difficult truths.

Fall of Night

Rich Evans is desperate to say goodbye to his past in New York and embrace a future in Waterton with Lou Newman, the small-town car mechanic who is also the love of his life. Just when he is closing the door on the chaos of the big city, tragedy ensues on a large scale. He arrives in Waterton to discover the body of his ex-girlfriend has turned up in a remote area nearby.

Grisly details emerge, and Rich and Lou prepare to try to prove his innocence in a small town where the term ‘outsider’ can be applied to anyone who wasn’t born there.

  • Fiction
  • Mystery & Suspense

Danika Stone

Danika Stone is an author, artist, and educator who discovered a passion for writing fiction while in the throes of her Masters thesis. A self-declared bibliophile, Danika now writes novels for both teens: Switchback (Macmillan, 2019), Internet Famous (Macmillan, 2017) and All the Feels (Macmillan, 2016); and adults: Edge Of Wild (Stonehouse, 2016), The Dark Divide (Stonehouse, 2018) and Fall of Night (Stonehouse, 2020).  When not writing, Danika can be found hiking in the Rockies, planning grand adventures, and spending far too much time online. She lives with her husband, three sons, and a houseful of imaginary characters in a windy corner of Alberta, Canada.