Menu

Select your Location:

X

Schedule

The Word On The Street has been renowned for the quality and diversity of its event programming and our next festival promises to offer the best so far. Check out our 2020 schedule!

Friday, September 18th: Jeremy and Hermione Tankard – Yorick and Bones

11:15 AM - 12:15 PM

Yorick and Bones

Hear ye, hear ye! Father-daughter duo Jeremy and Hermione Tankard are pleased to introduce the first book in a rib-tickling, heartfelt full-color graphic novel series perfect for fans of Bird & Squirrel!

Yorick is a skeleton who was just dug up after a few hundred years of sleep. He speaks like it too. “Forsooth, my joy, I barely can contain!”

Bones is the hungry dog who did the digging. Though he cannot speak, he can chomp.

What will become of these two unlikely companions? Will Yorick ever find the friend he seeks? Will Bones ever find a tasty treat that does not talk back?

The course of true friendship never did run smooth.

  • Children's
  • Comics & Graphic Novels

Hermione Tankard

Hermione Tankard discovered her love of Shakespeare in fourth grade when she asked her father to buy her a copy of Romeo and Juliet. She read it to herself as a bedtime story for the next two weeks. Little did she know it would one day lead to a job writing new Shakespearean adventures with her dad. When not helping her dad with their book Yorick and Bones, she enjoys acting and singing onstage.

Yorick and Bones

Hear ye, hear ye! Father-daughter duo Jeremy and Hermione Tankard are pleased to introduce the first book in a rib-tickling, heartfelt full-color graphic novel series perfect for fans of Bird & Squirrel!

Yorick is a skeleton who was just dug up after a few hundred years of sleep. He speaks like it too. “Forsooth, my joy, I barely can contain!”

Bones is the hungry dog who did the digging. Though he cannot speak, he can chomp.

What will become of these two unlikely companions? Will Yorick ever find the friend he seeks? Will Bones ever find a tasty treat that does not talk back?

The course of true friendship never did run smooth.

  • Children's
  • Comics & Graphic Novels

Jeremy Tankard

Jeremy Tankard is the bestselling authorstrator of the Grumpy Bird picture books. He has always loved comics and planned to make a career of them when he was about nine years old. He discovered the joys of Shakespeare in high school when his drama teacher cast him in a production of The Tempest. He has loved all things Shakespeare ever since. His book Yorick and Bones sees these two interests collide in the most unexpected ways. He lives in Vancouver with his wife and two children.