Kitchener, Ontario

Saturday, September 26, 2015

Downtown Kitchener | 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Change Location
Menu

Select your Location:

X

Celebrate Literacy

Did you know that 1 in 4 or 24% of adults in Waterloo-Wellington 16 years of age and over fall within the lowest levels of literacy? Literacy is more than being able to read and write. There are nine Essential Skills that have been identified as essential to work, learning, and life. These skills include: Reading, Document Use, Numeracy, Writing, Oral Communication, Working with Others, Thinking, Computer Use, and Continuous Learning.

Celebrate Literacy

As part of its commitment to supporting literacy and lifelong learning, the Kitchener Public Library provides access to materials, programs, services and facilities to those upgrading their literacy skills. KPL provides supports for learners of all ages, teachers and tutors, as well as our community partners.

 

Connect with these local literacy organizations through the Kitchener Public Library:

 

Kitchener Public Library
Contact: Aimee Jeffery
Email: aimee.jeffrey@kpl.org

 

Action Read Community Literacy Centre
Contact: Mira Clarke
Email: action1@on.aibn.com

 

Early Literacy Alliance of Waterloo Region
Contact: Kim Krueger-Kischak
Email: oeycliteracy@ckwymca.ca

 

Waterloo Public Library
Contact: Laura Dick
Email: ldick@wpl.ca

 

Let’s Read
Contact: Barb Janicek
Email: barb.janicek@kpl.org

 

The Literacy Group of Waterloo Region
Contact: Carol Risadore
Email: carol@theliteracygroup.com

 

Our Place Family Resource & Early Years
Contact: Wanda Kampijan
Email: wkampijan@ourplacekw.ca

 

Project READ—Family Literacy
Contact: Joanne Davis
Email: joanne@projectread.ca